Nominations Due 10/4 for Sara Sullivan & Jerilyn Dinsmoor Awards

Nominations Sought for 2019 Sara Sullivan Award and 2019 Jerilyn Dinsmoor Award

Contact:  Jacob Sciammas, La Crosse Neighborhoods, Inc. (608) 571-5264.   

Nominations are being accepted for the 2019 Sara Sullivan Award and 2019 Jerilyn Dinsmoor Award. The deadline for submission has been extended to Friday, October 4th at 5:00 PM. 

The La Crosse Neighborhood Associations Group made up of leaders from existing and forming neighborhood associations created the Sara Sullivan award in 2015 and the Jerilyn Dinsmoor Award in 2018.  The group affirms and promotes the support, preservation and betterment of our neighborhoods and the quality of life by the cooperation and collaboration of residents within our community understanding that people are our community’s greatest asset.

Anyone can nominate an individual for the Sara Sullivan Award and a team, organization, or group for the Jerilyn Dinsmoor Award if the nominator feels they meet the values of the judging criteria listed below.  It will be awarded during the 2019 Mayor’s Neighborhood Conference at Black River Beach Community Center on Saturday, October 19th at 10am.

Eligibility Requirements:

Anyone may submit a completed nomination form. The winner must reside or have a presence in the City of La Crosse.  All nominations shall be judged on how dedicated they are to neighborhood revitalization IN ANY OF the following areas:

1. Physical Revitalization/Beautification: Projects that focus on physical aspects of improving a neighborhood such as parks and green spaces, lighting, litter control, traffic management, housing improvements or business district enhancements.

2. Social Revitalization: Projects that focus on the social or cultural aspects of a neighborhood like safety, youth and/or senior programs, activities that make neighbors feel connected and foster neighbors working together like an ice cream social, holiday celebration or festival.

3. Multi-Neighborhood Partnerships: Projects that are jointly produced by a collaboration of at least two neighborhood associations, community organizations or groups of people in a partnership effort addressing either physical or social concerns.

How do I nominate someone?   For complete guidelines and nomination forms online go to:   Further information, guidelines & nomination forms are also available via email at or by contacting La Crosse Neighborhoods, Inc. (608) 571-5264.  Submission deadline: Friday, October 4th at 5:00 PM. 

Previous Sara Sullivan award winners include:  Angie Manke (2018), JoAnn Neve (2017), and Jacob Sciammas (2016)

Previous Jerilyn Dinsmoor award winners include:  La Crosse Promise (2018)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *